May 12, 2015

Athletics 2015

High School wins 16 medals in the East-Munster Track and Field Championships  


Congratulations to all of the athletes who took part yesterday, 6th of May in the East Munster Track Track and Field Championships in Waterford. 16 individual medals were won and those athletes have now qualified for the Munster Final on Saturday week in Cork.


Those students are;

Shane Fitzgibbon (100m and 800m), Alex O’Flatherty Weadick (200m *There is no 200m in the Munster Final at Minor level), Graham Molloy (Shot), Edward McIntosh (Shot), Cathal Boland O’Reilly (1200m Racewalk), Arshad Mohammed Remann (1200m Racewalk)from First Year. Jack Pender (High Jump and 80m Hurdles) from Second Year, Alan Boland (2K Racewalk), Luke Delahunty (400m) and Conor Murphy (400m) from Third Year and Frank Mallekoote (1500m), Aaron Egan (3k Racewalk), Anthony Tobin (3K Racewalk)and Patrick Clear (3000m ) from Fifth Year.

The Minor team also won the shield for the best overall Minor team on the day.

Tipperary County Track and Field

Congratulations to all of the athletes who took part yesterday in the Tipperary County Track and Field Championships. Many track athletes made it through their heats, semi-finals and got into finals. Many field athletes performed very well.


In the minor age group a Silver medal was won by Shane Fitzgibbon, First Year in the 100m and he won a bronze medal in the 800m. He also led home the relay team of himself, Joshua King, Alex O’Flatherty Weadick and Conor Gregory Walsh to capture the gold.

Luke Delahunty of Third Year came 3rd in the Intermediate High Jump at a height of 1 m 66 cm. Dylan Bates came 1st in the 1500 m Steeplechase and Alan Boland came second.


In the Senior age group Patrick Cleary came second in the 1500m and Eoghan Hoctor came third. The relay team of Aaron Egan, Evan Corcoran, Brian Molloy and Alan Boland won the bronze medal.