January 30, 2014

Football News 2013-2014

Senior Football

The senior football team competed in the Corn Uí Mhúirí which is the Munster A competition but failed to qualify from their group losing to two Kerry teams, Killorglin IS and Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne (Dingle). The seniors also disappointingly bowed out of the county championship at the semi-final stage. These lads have represented the school very well in football during their time in school winning many county championships all the way up. Some were part of the successful under Munster A under 15 winning team and most of these lads played in the 2 agonising under 16 & 1/2 Frewen Cup final defeats. We wish the lads all the best in their football futures with their clubs and counties. Well done to all involved.

Panel: Liam Powell, Daire Brennan, Liam Ryan, Ross Dennehy, Eric Walsh, Danny Owens, Richie Gunne, Paudie White, Luke Boland, Paul Maher, Shane Lonergan, David Roberts, Brendan Martin, Conor Gleeson, Ross Peters, Paddy Morrissey, Stephen Ryan, Dara Ryan, Jack Guiry, Martin Gibbs, Luke Perry, Kyle Peters, Graham Kelly, Shane O’Meara, Liam Cooney, Ciaran Looney, Gearoid Hearn, Michael Morrissey, Mike Hogan, Danny Hogan, Eoin O’Brien, Andrew O’Donnell, Rory Maher, Jamie Ahearne.

Under 15

The under 15 had a good campaign reaching the Munster A semi-final before being defeated by Rochestown. The lads had a great win in the opening round by 5 points against Poabalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne (Dingle) before showing great spirit in coming from behind to beat Coláiste Chríost Rí (Cork) after extra-time in the 1/4 final. Unfortuenately, Rochestown proved too strong in the semi-final. The lads still have the county championship to come in April and we wish them the best of luck and congratulate them on their Munster campaign.

Panel:Aidan Tobin, Darragh Bolger, Jamie Mc Guire, Diarmuid Mulcahy, Joe Gunne, Cathal Ryan, Oisin O Dwyer, Keenan Bates, Luke Delahunty, Glen Cullinane, Cathal McKeown, Colm Power, Daniel Foley, Niall Hoctor, Sean Kennedy, Adam Peters, James Brophy, Dean Mc Morrow, Oisin Ryan, Luke Fogarty, Brian Quirke, Kian Cullinane, Frank Mallekoote, Tholem Guiry, Mark Stokes, Calvin Boland, Jamie Grant, Cillian Crowe, Eoin Power, Kieran Quirke, Sebastian Raki, Jason Connolly, Daniel Trass, Alan Boland, Ian Gilman, Seamus McMahon, Mati, David Novacki, Aaron Phelan, Darren Slattery, Ian Fahy, Dylan Sweetman, Matthew Mc Grath, Jonathon Carey.

Under 16 & 1/2:

The under 16 & 1/2 team are back training and currently playing challenge matches in preparation for their opening game of the Frewen Cup which is against St Flannans in February.

Result of Match

The under 16 & a half football team were disappointingly defeated on the 25th of February by St Flannans in the Frewen Cup. Having reached the Final the last two years, hopes were high that this team could go one step further but Flannans came out on top by the minimum by 0-10 to 1-6 in a nailbiting contest.

Having lost the toss The High School played well against the strong wind in the 1st half and trailed by only 0-4 to 0-1 at half time but after a bad start to the 2nd half, Flannans had extended their lead to 5 points. The High School then took control, led by captain Stephen Ryan and quick points by Ciaran Looney, Kyle Peters and Dara Ryan and then a great goal by Mike Hogan set up by sub Michael O’Reilly put the High School in to the lead for the 1st time. Despite further points from Mike Hogan and Ciaran Looney, Flannans could not be shaken off and they scored the last 3 points of the game to snatch victory from the lads with loss of Kyle Peters to a harsh black card and the missing of a few frees and chances in open play in the last 10 minutes proving costly.

Overall, the team played well with the backs particularly impressive on the day but alas, it wasn’t to be. Well done to all involved and we look forward to these players in action next year with the senior team.

Panel: Ciaran Barrett, Darragh Phelan, Gavin Ryan, Nick Kavanagh, Matt Barlow, Stephen Ryan (capt), Liam Cooney, Kyle Peters (0-1), Daire Brennan, Dara Ryan (0-1), Mark Kehoe, Jamie Ahearne, Ciaran Looney (0-3), Martin Gibbs, Mike Hogan (1-1), Michal O’Reilly, Michael Barlow, Kevin Kehoe, Shane O’Meara, Gavin Whelan, Nathan Croke, Jake Mulcahy, Colm McKeown, Alex Doyle, Daniel Perry, Evan Barrett, Yahya Naeem, Jack McGrath, Dean Slattery, Brian Guiry, Michael Farrow.