January 30, 2014

Under15 football 2011-12


                                                               Under 15 Football

High School CBS 5-12 Abbey CBS 2-5

The Under 15 team retained the Cusack Cup for the 6th year in a row with a victory over rivals Abbey CBS, having previously overcome Templemore in the semi final by 3 points.

After a difficult start, conceeding a goal in the very 1st minute followed by a point by the Abbey, it seemed that the High School could be in trouble but the team showed great character to respond. For the remainder of the match, the High School played great football with the defense and midfield getting on top and the forwards causing chaos in the Abbey defense. Goals from Brendan Martin (2), captain Danny Owens, Kyle Peters and Mike Hogan put the High School in control and although they had a strong lead at half-time, the pressure from the lads never relented and there were some great points from Ross Peters, Mike Hogan, Kevin Kehoe, Michael O’Reilly and Nathan Croke throughout the game.


Liam Powell was very solid in goal and the full back line of Nicky Kavanagh, Gavin Ryan and Darragh Brennan never gave their markers a sniff. Further out, the half back line of Matt Barlow, Danny Owen and Michael Murphy, who had been moved from midfield, won a great amount of ball and attacked where possible. In midfield, Darragh Brennan and Kyle Peters controlled the game and worked well together throughout. In attack, Mike Hogan , Kevin Kehoe, Michael O’Reilly and Brendan Martin always looked dangerous while Stephen Ryan won a great amount of possession and laid it off well to others around him. Ross Peters was very accurate throughout from play and frees and made a big difference when moved out midfield against the wind while substitutes Sean Lonergan, Nathan Croke, Liam Cooney, Ciran Looney and Shay Whelan all did well when introduced with the whole panel putting in great effort throughout the year.

Well done to all involved.


Panel: Liam Powell, Darragh Brennan, Gavin Ryan, Nicky Kavanagh, Matt Barlow, Danny Owens, Darragh Phelan, Kyle Peters, Michael Murphy, Mike Hogan, Stephen Ryan, Kevin Kehoe, Michael O’Reilly, Ross Peters, Brendan Martin, David Roberts, Sean Lonergan, Nathan Croke, Liam Cooney, Ciaran Looney, Shay Whelan, William O’Dwyer, Eoin O’Brien, Patrick Loyola, Cian Wall, Jamie Ahearne, Shane Keating, Ciaran Barrett, Jack McGrath, Dean Slattery, Yaya Naeem, David Leo, Michael O’Doherty, Daniel Perry