May 10, 2013


Corn Phadraig – Munster ‘B’ Championship U18
We played our opening game in Emly in early October against an impressive Charleville CBS side. Despite making a very good comeback, we were beaten. Matthew Norris banged home two memorable goals in the second half.
We travelled to Ballygiblin to play Glanmire Community School in our second group game. The Glanmire team proved to be very skilful as well as being physically very imposing. They seized the initiative from the start and never eased up.
Players who made a very good impression for the High School were: Jack Kelly, Graham Quinn, Dean Horton, Emmet Ryan and the aforementioned Matthew Norris.

Team: 1 Philip Murphy, 2 Shane Fehilly, 3 Paul Nolan, 4 Jamie Peters, 5 Liam Glendon, 6 Graham Quinn, 7 Jack Kelly, 8 Gearoid Buckley, 9 Dean Horton, 10 Matthew Norris, 11 Billy Hewitt, 12 Conor Ryan 13 Emmet Ryan, 14 Donal O’Donnell, 15 Thomas Hill.
Subs: Marc Ahearne, Joey Phelan, Conor O’Keeffe, Shane Ryan, Eoghan Corcoran, Shane Columby, Shane Hogan, Diarmuid Murphy, David Ryan, Adam Russell, John O’Brien

Hennessy Cup County ‘B’ Hurling U15
The High School recorded an easy win against Thurles CBS ‘B’ in New Inn in the opening round, in early October.
Our second round game against Scoil Raun, Killenaule in Fethard was a much different affair, we were defending our lead right up to the final whistle.
In late November, we played the Abbey CBS in the semi-final in Cahir, and beat them by a small margin. The final was played in Littleton in early December and our opponents were Presentation, Ballingarry. The High School lads saved their strongest performance for the final.

Team: 1 Keith Browne, 2 Rian Clancy, 3 Jason Lonergan, 4 Sean Gunne, 5 Aidan Butler, 6 Bill Maher(C), 7 Sam Ryan, 8 Ciaran Brady, 9 Eamonn Gleeson, 10 Darren Cass, 11 Brian Walshe, 12 Donal McGrath, 13 Brian Gleeson, 14 Diarmuid Devaney, 15 Aaron Barry
Players who also started during the campaign: Tom Kirwan, Rory Doyle, Christopher Walshe.
Subs: Padraig Looram, Thomas Keaveney, Laurence Whelan, Kevin Kirwan, Conor Arrigan, Laurence Whelan, Padraig Keating, Aaron Lonergan, Sean Twomey, David Columby, Alex Connolly, Shane Norris
Our U15 panel was strong and a large number of players were used during the campaign. Top performers over the four games were Jason Lonergan, Bill Maher, Sam Ryan, Ciaran Brady, Brian Walshe and Diarmuid Devaney.

Keane Cup – First Year County ‘A’ Competition
The High School First Years fared really well this year, going all the way to the final and winning it after extra time. They topped their group by beating Cashel C.S, Thurles CBS ‘A1’and Roscrea C.S. They overcame Thurles CBS ‘B’ after a replay in the Semi-final. In the Final, we faced Our Lady’s, Templemore and beat them to win the Keane Cup for the second time in the history of the competition. It was a great team effort. There were some really outsranding performances during the campaign from Eoin Kehoe, Tom Kirwan, Michael Meagher, Dermot Ryan, Michael Connolly and Tomas Cooney.
Team: 1 Tadhg Lonergan, 2 Robert Lyons, 3 Eoin Kehoe, 4 Sean Ryan, 5 Sean Nagle, 6 Tom Kirwan, 7 Michael Meagher, 8 Dermot Ryan, 9 Ross Mulcahy, 10 Patrick Morrissey, 11 Michael Connolly, 12 Luke Boland, 13 Michael Boland, 14 Tomas Cooney, 15 Padraig White.
Panel Members : Jack Kennedy, Rian Connolly, Eoin O’Connor, Kevin Guiry, Jake Duggan, Eoin Bolger, Thomas Morrissey, Sean Hahessy, Conor Prendergast, Dale O’Donnell.
Rice Cup – U14 ‘A’ CBS Schools Competition

Our Rice Cup Blitz was held at McDonagh Park, Nenagh in late March. We only had to play two matches as Charleville CBS did not show for the competition. We beat Our Lady’s Secondary School, Templemore and Callan CBS, thus qualifying for the Quarter final stage. We face Kilkenny CBS in the Semi-Final.
We then beat Nenagh CBS at Dr Morris Park, Thurles in early May. First Years Tom Kirwan and Tomas Cooney are again proving to be major players. Second Years David Collins, Padraig Looram and Kevin Kirwan have added pace and guile to the forwards, while Danny O’Mahoney brings physical presence and power to the centre forward position.
We played Kilkenny CBS at John Locke Park in Callan in the semi-final. There were quite a number of strong performances from our lads, particularly from defenders Eoin Kehoe, Tom Kirwan and Michael Meagher. Dermot Ryan showed up well at centre field, as did Padraig Looram in the forwards. We were beaten by three points, but we had at least three very good goal chances in the second half.

Team: 1 Tadhg Lonergan, 2 Sean Ryan, 3 Eoin Kehoe, 4 Sean Gunne, 5 Michael Meagher, 6 Tom Kirwan, 7 Ross Mulcahy, 8 Dermot Ryan, 9 Michael Connolly, 10 Padraig Looram, 11 Danny O’Mahoney 12 Kevin Kirwan, 13 David Collins, 14 Tomas Cooney, 15 Patrick Morrissey.
Subs Used : Robert Guiry, Luke Boland
Panel Members : Sean Nagle, Conor Arrigan, Padraig White, Kevin Guiry, Rian Connolly, Eoin O’Connor.

Fitzgerald Shield- U17 County ‘B’ Hurling

Our opening game was played against Cahir School, Colaiste Dun Iascaigh at Goatenbridge in March. We won with just one point to spare. We were then granted a walkover at the Semi-final stage by Abbey CBS. We played Cistercian College, Roscrea in the Final at Dr Morris Park. The Roscrea side won by two goals which they had scored in the first half. The strong wind had a major bearing on the game.

Team: 1 Adrian McGuire, 2 Jamie Peters, 3 Kevin Larkin, 4 Shane Fehilly, 5 Billy Hewitt, 6 Liam Glendon, 7 Dean Horton, 8 Gearoid Buckley, 9 Michael O’Sullivan, 10 Shane Ryan, 11 Conor Davin Murphy, 12 Conor O’Keeffe, 13 Marc Ahearne, 14 John Kehoe, 15 Emmet Ryan.
Subs Used : Diarmuid Murphy, Joey Phelan
Panel Members : Paul Nolan, Eoghan Corcoran, Dean Horton, Dean Kelleher, Alex Harte, Eoin Fitzgerald, Darragh Kearney.

A special thanks to High School staff members: Mr J Broderick, Mr P O’Mahoney and Mr L Rice for their active involvement in coaching and in preparing the different teams for the various competitions.
Tom Kirwan has the distinction this year of having played with three different High School teams – First Year, U14 and U 15 in three different competitions.

Finally, congratulations to former High School student, Michael O’ Brien on playing a major role in helping Thurles CBS win the Munster Colleges Championship (Harty Cup) and the All-Ireland Colleges Championship (Croke Cup) this year. Michael is now playing with the Tipperary Minor Team. We wish him every success this Summer and in his future hurling career.